If copy is taking place, creating folders get queued [CLOSED]

Questions, glitches, bugs and crashes
Post Reply
bchuter
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:37 pm
Location: South Africa

If copy is taking place, creating folders get queued [CLOSED]

Post by bchuter » Sun Oct 01, 2017 6:51 pm

Hi Mike

I just noticed that when i copied a large amount of data, and wanted to continue with my activities like creating a new folder on the drive
that operation got queued which then effectively makes me have to wait (15mins) for the entire queue to finish before i can continue to do file operations.
Screen Shot 2017-10-01 at 20.48.54.png
Screen Shot 2017-10-01 at 20.48.54.png (12.9 KiB) Viewed 108 times
Last edited by bchuter on Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:07 am, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
mike
Posts: 623
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 5:35 am
Location: Barnaul, Russia

Re: If copy is taking place, creating folders get queued

Post by mike » Tue Oct 03, 2017 12:53 pm

You can just use another window to do it.
Operations queues work on a window level, not on an app level.

bchuter
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:37 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: If copy is taking place, creating folders get queued

Post by bchuter » Sat Oct 07, 2017 5:06 am

mike wrote:
Tue Oct 03, 2017 12:53 pm
You can just use another window to do it.
Operations queues work on a window level, not on an app level.
Hi Mike

So i understand......
are you saying i should move to the opposite panel and then continue my operations for that side ?
or open up a new instance of NC altogether to continue my operations ?
Just not sure what you mean by use another window ? :P

Is it at all possible to introduce the choice to queue rather than have it happen by default (you only have the option to change the number of file operations before queueing takes place with 1 being the lowest)
So you add in an additional option on the "Copy" and "Move" prompts (when pressing F5 or F6) which will then have 2 choices.
Enter/Return will do a normal copy/move operation (used for small or quick copies and moves). Or the other option "F2"
which will queue your copy into a pop-out box with progress, leaving you free to continue file operations in the same instance of NC.
You can then even, still do further small copy/move operations whilst the queue is still busy.
So copy/move using "Enter/Return" puts the copy and move process within NC centre top notification area and using "F2" to queue will place the copy/move queue into a pop-out box which is in a separate process from the NC window you are busy on. The pop-out box should also then have the further options to "Pause/Un-pause Operation" as well as have a "Remove from Queue" option so that you can select line items within the queue and remove them before they get processed.

Some examples of what im jabbering on about :mrgreen:
Queue.png
Queue.png (87.99 KiB) Viewed 91 times
queue box.png
queue box.png (90.09 KiB) Viewed 91 times

User avatar
mike
Posts: 623
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 5:35 am
Location: Barnaul, Russia

Re: If copy is taking place, creating folders get queued

Post by mike » Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:56 pm

Operation pools are tied to windows, not to panels.
I.e. there can be, say, 5 panels inside a window(considering tabs too), and any operation started within these panels will be placed in a single operation pool of the window where panels belong.

Speaking of special treatment - why queuing should be applied only to copying?
Changing file attributes of 1M items can be long too.

And again - sorry, but I'm not developing a clone of Total Commander.

bchuter
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:37 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: If copy is taking place, creating folders get queued

Post by bchuter » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:21 am

mike wrote:
Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:56 pm
Operation pools are tied to windows, not to panels.
I.e. there can be, say, 5 panels inside a window(considering tabs too), and any operation started within these panels will be placed in a single operation pool of the window where panels belong.

Speaking of special treatment - why queuing should be applied only to copying?
Changing file attributes of 1M items can be long too.

And again - sorry, but I'm not developing a clone of Total Commander.
Understood, thanks Mike.
I just use TC to explain what im asking for, its just easier to visually show you screen shots of what im asking.
If its not something feasible for you to implement i fully understand that.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest