build 1905 - the new UI

Alpha/Beta versions for early access to new half-cooked features
mike

build 1905 - the new UI

Post by mike » Fri Dec 16, 2016 10:38 am

Dears friends,

I've been working on new NC's interface backbone for 2+ months and finally there's something to show to you.
First of all - this time current preview build is really a preview, i.e. some parts are lacking, some may be buggy and others might be forgotten at all. About ~150Kb of source code was thrown away and another ~200Kb was written to replace it, and such changes can't go absolutely smoothly.
Nevertheless, it's a very good opportunity to change something now, while this new codebase is not finalized, and some external sight might show some unexpected aspects of undergoing changes.

So, what is new:
- File panels UI is now fully based on system components, i.e. they have scrollbars, they are full of layer-backed views blah-blah-blah.
The most sensitive point here is overall UI performance and responsiveness, it'll be great to hear about your experience - is it enough or UI deserves a further optimization?
- Page Up / Page Down now actually scrolls the panel view, not moving the cursor inside it.
- New concept of customizable layouts. Previously there were 4 hardcoded of them, now there're up to 10 layouts that can be tuned for your needs.
Settings are located at Preferences->Panels->Layouts, currently there're not many of them, but I will add them gradually.
Now there're 2 main layout types - Brief and List, and Thumbnails type will be added later.
And yes, there's a dynamic columns width mode for Brief layout.
- Date Added file attribute, can be used for sorting too.
- Sorting indicator in Panel Header now is actually a button, which brings a popup menu with sorting options.
- Quick Search now underscores query matches in filenames.
- Panel Footer now includes an info about available space on current volume and shows total amount of items in panel.

Now, what is missing:
- Drag&drop.