build 2266 - UI improvements

Alpha/Beta versions for early access to new half-cooked features
Post Reply
User avatar
mike
Posts: 723
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 5:35 am
Location: Barnaul, Russia

build 2266 - UI improvements

Post by mike » Thu May 11, 2017 8:56 am

Hi,

I've made a bunch of useful UI improvements, they might be quite handy:
  • Connections popup now has different icons depending on a connection type.
  • NonMAS version now can move itself into an Applications directory.
  • List view now saves and restores column widths.
    Column ordering can now be changed with a regular drag&drop.
    Also a context menu was added to manage columns visibly via a right-click on a columns header.
    Fixed an issue with a sorting indicator being not showing sometimes.
  • Brief view has got a grid back - it can draw vertical lines (turned on by default).
  • Duplicate command is now accessible via main menu and via Cmd+D hotkey.
    It was also made more intelligent - it can duplicate an arbitrary amount of items, naming of duplicates was improved too.
  • Made ConnectTo... dialogs a bit more intelligent.
    For example, when connecting to an SFTP server, NC can check a validity of provided private key and it's passphrase on the fly.
    In case of any error - it will be known immediately.
The build itself:
http://magnumbytes.com/downloads/previe ... (2266).zip

warpkanal
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:24 pm

Re: build 2266 - UI improvements

Post by warpkanal » Thu May 11, 2017 11:08 am

Ahh, did not know about a dedicated Duplicate command, always used Shift+F5 :)
Not related to this build, but what I sometimes bothered with was the inability to resize the Preferences dialog (e.g. to have a better skimming through the shortcuts list). Would that be a bigger thing or a trivial one?

User avatar
mike
Posts: 723
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 5:35 am
Location: Barnaul, Russia

Re: build 2266 - UI improvements

Post by mike » Fri May 12, 2017 2:22 am

warpkanal wrote:
Thu May 11, 2017 11:08 am
Ahh, did not know about a dedicated Duplicate command, always used Shift+F5
Yep, there was (and partially still is) a disparity between a context menu and a main menu.
I'm currently trying to unify them as much as possible.
warpkanal wrote:
Thu May 11, 2017 11:08 am
Not related to this build, but what I sometimes bothered with was the inability to resize the Preferences dialog (e.g. to have a better skimming through the shortcuts list). Would that be a bigger thing or a trivial one?
Hmm.. I think it's possible to add an ability to resize this window vertically.
Need to check this in practice.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest