Services menu

Questions, glitches, bugs and crashes
Post Reply
pwu
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 2:46 pm

Services menu

Post by pwu » Wed Dec 22, 2021 11:57 am

Hi Mike,

I have a strange bug with Services menu. In finder I have one option (Cloud Mail.Ru: Copy public link) but I can't find it if I go to Services menu with NC. Do you have an idea why it might happen and how to fix it? I have attached screenshots to make it clear

Thank you!
Attachments
Screenshot 2021-12-22 at 14.47 copy.jpg
Screenshot 2021-12-22 at 14.47 copy.jpg (476.66 KiB) Viewed 771 times
Screenshot 2021-12-22 at 14.47.47.jpg
Screenshot 2021-12-22 at 14.47.47.jpg (493.18 KiB) Viewed 771 times

User avatar
mike
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 5:35 am
Location: Exeter, UK

Re: Services menu

Post by mike » Mon Dec 27, 2021 5:15 pm

Hi pwu,
I wonder what types this service is expecting to receive.
NC provides two: NSFilenamesPboardType and kUTTypeFileURL.

pwu
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 2:46 pm

Re: Services menu

Post by pwu » Sun May 08, 2022 7:58 pm

it should be any type of file inside certain folder. it's similar to dropbox - if you right click on any file inside dropbox folder, you will see a special dropbox menu, but there is no such menu inside NC

I've attached 2 screenshots for the same file inside NC and in finder, have a look, hope it will make things clear

thank you!
Attachments
Screenshot 2022-05-08 at 22.56.39.png
Screenshot 2022-05-08 at 22.56.39.png (485.04 KiB) Viewed 362 times
Screenshot 2022-05-08 at 22.56.06.png
Screenshot 2022-05-08 at 22.56.06.png (196.31 KiB) Viewed 362 times

User avatar
mike
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 5:35 am
Location: Exeter, UK

Re: Services menu

Post by mike » Sat May 14, 2022 12:09 pm

Hey,

Cloud-storage services add these menu items to Finder via the Finder Sync API, which is designed as a one-way plugin system to work specifically with Finder. There's no official system-defined way to query available plugins and ask them for such menu items and overlay icons.
While in theory it could be possible to reimplement these parts of the system and manually manage loading the plugins and communicate with them, the required effort to develop and maintain such an integration is way beyond the available resources I have.
So for now - sorry, these menu items won't appear in NC.

Regards,
Mike

Post Reply