Batch Rename Tool [N#-#] Range Should Default to 255 [DONE]

Any wishes
Post Reply
Sticky
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 8:31 pm

Batch Rename Tool [N#-#] Range Should Default to 255 [DONE]

Post by Sticky » Sat May 07, 2022 5:43 am

Hi,
When using the batch rename tool, I often use the Range [N#-#] function. However, it is rather inconvenient to use because the default selection is based on the top filename in the list, NOT the longest filename in the list, which makes it easy to inadvertently chop off some characters.

I think it would be much better if it would instead either:
1) Use the filename with the longest length for selecting the range. Or,
2) If the last character is highlighted when you make your selection, the range should default to X-255.

That's my current workaround. After I select the range (if I am selecting all the way to the end), I change the trailing number to 255 just in case.

Thoughts? Thanks!

User avatar
mike
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 5:35 am
Location: Exeter, UK

Re: Batch Rename Tool [N#-#] Range Should Default to 255

Post by mike » Sat May 14, 2022 11:48 am

Hey,

I agree this behaviour is a bit confusing.
Probably the issue is that when there's no item selected NC implicitly picks the first one.
Likely it would be better to pick the longest filename in this case instead.

Otherwise, if there's a selection in the list, that item should be picked as it is now.

Sticky
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 8:31 pm

Re: Batch Rename Tool [N#-#] Range Should Default to 255

Post by Sticky » Sat May 14, 2022 10:22 pm

Yeah, that's seems right to me, too. If you select a file then you should see that one when selecting the range. But it seems like the longest filename would be a better default than the first filename when nothing is selected. I'm usually renaming hundreds of files as a time, so it would be a giant pain to scroll through to try to find the longest filename. I suppose you could have a button or something "go to longest filename."

Either way, it seems to me that if the last characters before the extension are selected, it makes more sense to use a range that goes all the way to the end, regardless of which filename is showing. If there were a rare exception where you actually wanted to cut off all filenames at that exact length, you probably already know what that length is, or perhaps NC could show the range on the "select characters to insert" dialogue so you would know what that length was before hitting ok. Or if there were a third button in the dialogue: cancel, exact range, selected range to end. Something like that?

I don't know. I'm not a coder so I have no idea what would be the easiest way to include that functionality, but it seems like any way you do it would be a big improvement. Thanks for considering!

User avatar
mike
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 5:35 am
Location: Exeter, UK

Re: Batch Rename Tool [N#-#] Range Should Default to 255

Post by mike » Sun May 22, 2022 9:21 am

I'll change the default behaviour to pick a longest filename.

Though, I might be missing something, but doesn't the [Nxxx-] placeholder fits better in this use-case?
E.g. [N5-] to pick all characters starting with the fifth.

Post Reply