"Go To Folder..." function

Questions, glitches, bugs and crashes
Post Reply
sasha
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 4:59 pm

"Go To Folder..." function

Post by sasha » Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:34 pm

The scope of the "Go To Folder..." (Cmd+Shift+G) function depends on the current panel's folder. This is a bit confusing:

Example 1:
- Current folder is on local file system, e.g "/etc/apache2"
- Open "Go To Folder..."
- Going to local folders like "~/Desktop" is possible

Example 2:
- Current panel is contents from a zip archive
- Open "Go To Folder..."
- Going to local system folders, e.g. "~/Desktop" is NOT possible
- ONLY going to folders inside the zip archive is possible

Example 3:
- Current panel is a dmg image (mounted under /Volumes...)
- Open "Go To Folder..."
- Going to BOTH, local file system's AND dmg's local folders possible

Example 4:
- Current panel is a Temporary Panel, e.g. results from a Cmd+F search
- NEITHER going to local file system's folders NOR Temporary Panel's folders possible

Maybe it's a good idea to add consistency to "Go To Folder" scope? E.g., make going to local system folders always possible.

Also, in the GUI, only the last query is saved. Maybe make a N-item history available as a dropdown list, like in Finder?

User avatar
mike
Posts: 808
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 5:35 am
Location: Exeter, UK

Re: "Go To Folder..." function

Post by mike » Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:43 am

sasha wrote:
Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:34 pm
Maybe it's a good idea to add consistency to "Go To Folder" scope? E.g., make going to local system folders always possible.
It's pretty consistent now, although the behavior itself might be confusing.
Go To Folder dialog always operates within a current VFS.
So, e.g. going to "/etc/apache" on some MacOSX's native volume will bring you there, but if you're inside some Linux box via sftp:// - you'll go into "/etc/apache" on that machine.

The point of confusing might be that NC treats any "native" volume as a single VFS(you can check this out via Menu->Window->Show VFS List), regardless of it's type (any mounted hfs, afp, dmg etc).
While archives, sftp/ftp/webdav/dropbox connections, xattrs, etc exist only inside NC and treated as separate VFSes.
sasha wrote:
Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:34 pm
Example 4:
- Current panel is a Temporary Panel, e.g. results from a Cmd+F search
- NEITHER going to local file system's folders NOR Temporary Panel's folders possible
That's strange, I've just checked it - in my case it goes to a native folder.
sasha wrote:
Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:34 pm
Also, in the GUI, only the last query is saved. Maybe make a N-item history available as a dropdown list, like in Finder?
Agree, it simply needs to be written.

sasha
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 4:59 pm

Re: "Go To Folder..." function

Post by sasha » Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:22 pm

mike wrote:
Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:43 am
Go To Folder dialog always operates within a current VFS.
So, e.g. going to "/etc/apache" on some MacOSX's native volume will bring you there, but if you're inside some Linux box via sftp:// - you'll go into "/etc/apache" on that machine.
I understand the concept and in these cases, it works just as expected.
mike wrote:
Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:43 am
It's pretty consistent now, although the behavior itself might be confusing.
Currently, the UI only says "Go to the folder:" in all cases. Maybe adding a context would make it less confusing? Like "Go to native folder:" or "Go to remote folder @Linux-machine-name:" etc, depending on the context?
mike wrote:
Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:43 am
sasha wrote: ↑Fri Sep 01, 2017 4:34 pm
Example 4:
- Current panel is a Temporary Panel, e.g. results from a Cmd+F search
- NEITHER going to local file system's folders NOR Temporary Panel's folders possible
That's strange, I've just checked it - in my case it goes to a native folder.
I also just checked again. You're right, it can go to a native folder BUT auto-completion for native folders doesn't work in this case. This confused me into thinking it's not accessible. But you have to enter the full path correctly by hand.

Post Reply